My favorite Poem

There is a place where the sidewalk ends
And before the street begins,
And there the grass grows soft and white, And there the sun burns crimson bright,
And there the moon-bird rests from his flight To cool in the peppermint wind.
Let us leave this place where the smoke blows black And the dark street winds and bends.
Past the pits where the asphalt flowers grow
We shall walk with a walk that is measured and slow, And watch where the chalk-white arrows go
To the place where the sidewalk ends.
Yes we’ll walk with a walk that is measured and slow, And we’ll go where the chalk-white arrows go,
For the children, they mark, and the children, they know The place where the sidewalk ends.

This is my favorite poem of all time. It was written by an amazing poet, Shel Silverstien. When I read this poem I feel like I am there my self. This poem is filled with description so crisp it makes you want to read it again and again. It had a lot of repetition and it rhymes which Shel Silverstein is greatly known for. This is one of Shel Silverstein finest work and I hope you feel the same after you read this nationally known poem.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar